Unbonghyanggyo Confucian School
  • tweeter
  • facebook
more
  • Address: 600, Sandeok-ri, Unbong-eup, Namwon-si, Jeollabuk-do
  • Tel: +82-63-620-6178
  • Operation Hours: -
  • Admission Fees: Free
  • left
  • thum_0
  • thum_1
  • thum_2
  • right
  • Introduction
  • User Guide
  • How to get there
Image1 Image2 Image3
This Confucian School enshrines spirit tablets of five Confucian saints, four Confucian sages of the Song Dynasty of China, and 18 Confucian sages of Korea.
Designated as the Jeollabuk-do Cultural Heritage No. 50, Unbonghyanggyo Confucian School is located at 600 Sandeok-ri, Unbong-eup, Namwon. It was originally constructed in Seongsan, Gasan-ri in 1575 (the 8th year of the reign of King Seonjo during the Joseon Dynasty), but it was relocated to its current location in 1640 (the 18th year of the reign of King Injo during the Joseon Dynasty). This Confucian School went through several reconstruction works and it is thought that during one particular remodeling period, the school was moved four times. However, there are no clear historical records documenting the changes. Among the current buildings, Myeongnyundang Lecture Hall is the newest, constructed in May 1981.

Unbonghyanggyo is made up of Daeseongjeon Shrine, dormitories called dongjae and seojae, Myeongnyundang Lecture Hall, servant quarters, Jingangnu Pavilion and an outer gate. Every spring and fall, people hold ancestral rites at Daeseongjeon Shrine.

1330 call center