Sancheonghyanggyo Confucian School
  • tweeter
  • facebook
more
  • Address: 369-1, Ji-ri, Sancheong-eup, Sancheong-gun, Gyeongsangnam-do
  • Tel: +82-55-970-6441
  • Operation Hours: -
  • Admission Fees: Free
  • left
  • thum_0
  • thum_1
  • thum_2
  • right
  • Introduction
  • User Guide
  • How to get there
Image1 Image2 Image3
Sancheonghyanggyo Confucian School, which is located in Sancheong-eup, Sancheong-gun, Gyeongsangnam-do, was a local educational institute that operated from the Goryeo Dynasty through to the late Joseon Dynasty, and is comprised of Daeseongjeon Shrine and Myeongnyundang Lecture Hall. The design of the complex follows the natural incline of the land and Red Arrow Gate, Yokgiru Pavilion, Myeongnyundang, Nesammun Gate, and Daeseongjeon are arranged in an almost linear configuration, with the Confucian School in front and temple at the back.

Daeseongjeon, measuring three kan (the unit of distance between two columns) at the front and at the sides, is constructed with double eaves that connect the hipped-and-gabled roof, and the space between each column is decorated elaborately with flowers. Myeongnyundang, measuring five kan at the front and three kan at the sides, also has double eaves that connect the hipped-and-gabled roof with cross-beams. The whole façade is adorned with a triple-paneled, wide door and windows with slender frames, opaque to let the sunlight in. To the right and left of Myeongnyundang are dongjae and seojae; dongjae provided accommodation for the nobility and seojae was used to store records.

The school was erected in 1440 (the 22nd year of King Sejong's reign) but due to war, it was destroyed several times and was rebuilt at its original location in 1755 (the 31st year of King Yeongjo's reign), and has since undergone several renovations. Notable artifacts remaining include wine cups, ritual utensils, Confucian scholars’ clothing, and ceremonial utensils. Every spring and fall, ceremonial events are held here.

1330 call center