Doamseowon Confucian Academy
  • tweeter
  • facebook
more
  • Address: Doamseowon, Songcheon-ri,Janggye-myeon, Jangsu-gun, Jeollabuk-do
  • Tel: +82-63-350-2679
  • Operation Hours: 09:00-18:00
  • Admission Fees:
  • left
  • thum_0
  • thum_1
  • thum_2
  • right
  • Introduction
  • User Guide
  • How to get there
Image1 Image2 Image3
Doamseowon Confucian Academy, or Doamsa Shrine is located in Seomyeon Village, Songcheon-ri, about 1 kilometer east of Janggye-myeon Office in Jangsu-gun, Jeollabuk-do. Doamseowon Confucian Academy is where the ancestral tablets of Kim Jil of the Andong Kim Clan, his great grandsons Kim Gyeong-cheol, and Kim Ik-cheol are enshrined. It was established in 1612 (the 5th year of King Gwanghaegun’s reign). A memorial service was held for Kim Jil until 1847 (the 13th year of King Heonjong’s reign), and then for Kim Gyeong-cheol and Kim Ik-cheol after that. The building was demolished once in 1868 (the 5th year of King Gojong’s reign), restored in 1881, and designated as the Gochang-gun Local Cultural Heritage No. 7 on June 17, 2005. The memorial service is held on February 14 every year. Heading away from Gongeum-myeon where Doamseowon is located towards Beopseong, there is a 3-way intersection. At the intersection, there is a stone tablet that requires the rider to dismount with a red arrow gate on the opposite side, behind which there are three outer gates and a lecture hall called Yeongmodang with a monument house and a pavilion named Bongangak on either side of Hyochungmun which serves as the inner gate. Behind the inner gate is Doamsa Shrine dedicated to Kim Jil. Right behind Doamsa and inside the Hyeonchungmun Gate is a shrine with the ancestral tablet of Kim Sa-hyeong, a sixth-generation descendent of Kim Jil.

1330 call center