Maninuichong Cemetery
  • tweeter
  • facebook
more
  • Address: 628, Hyanggyo-dong, Namwon-si, Jeollabuk-do
  • Tel: +82-63-290-6600
  • Operation Hours: 09:00-18:00
  • Admission Fees: Free
  • left
  • thum_0
  • thum_1
  • thum_2
  • right
  • Introduction
  • User Guide
  • How to get there
Image1 Image2 Image3
Maninuichong, Historical Site No. 272 located on 628 Hyanggyo-dong, Namwon, Jeollabuk-do, is a cemetery for those who died protecting Namwonseong Fortress during the Japanese Invasion of Korea in 1597 (the 30th year of King Seonjo’s reign). The Japanese thought that they were defeated because they failed to occupy the province of Jeollabuk-do during the first invasion in 1592, so they planned to conquer Jeollabuk-do before advancing north. So at the end of July 1597 (the 30th year of King Seonjo’s reign), a Japanese Army of 110,000 attacked the Hwangseoksanseong Fortress and Namwon. Since Namwon is a strategically important point that connects Jeolla-do and Chungcheong-do, the city has always been heavily guarded by 1,000 soldiers under the command of Jeolla Commander-in-chief Lee Bok-nam, Gwangyang Magistrate Lee Chun-won, and Military Officer Kim Gyeong-ro, as well as 3,000 Ming soldiers led by Yang Yuan. In addition to the soldiers, local police officers and even civilians joined the battle, but Namwonseong Fortress fell to the hands of the invader. In the battle, more than 10,000 soldiers, government officials, and civilians were killed. So after the Japanese Invasions of Korea (1592~1598), everyone killed in the battle was buried in the same place and the government built a shrine in 1612 (the 4th year of King Gwanghaegun’s reign) to hold ancestral rites, mainly for the 'Eight Loyal Subjects’. The cemetery was originally located near Namwon Station, but was relocated to this place in 1964 because it eventually became surrounded by residential areas.

1330 call center