Geoyeonjeong Pavilion
  • tweeter
  • facebook
more
  • Address: 2006, Bongjeon-ri, Seoha-myeon, Hamyang-gun, Gyeongsangnam-do
  • Tel: +82-55-960-5163
  • Operation Hours: -
  • Admission Fees: Free
  • left
  • thum_0
  • thum_1
  • thum_2
  • right
  • Introduction
  • User Guide
  • How to get there
Image1 Image2 Image3
This pavilion is situated in Bongjeon-ri, Seoha-myeon, Hamyang-gun.

It was built in 1872 by Jeon Jae-hak and Jeon Min-jin, two of the descendants of Jeon Si-seo, the seventh generation of Jeon O-ryun who is an important historical figure from the late Goryeo Dynasty. The place is dedicated to their ancestors, particularly Jeon Si-seo, a local official of the town.

The original building was destroyed by fire in 1853. It was rebuilt but it was demolished by the order of the king because the government at the time banned people from having a private ancestral shrine. In 1872, two of the seventh-generation descendants of Jeon Si-seo had the pavilion covered with pampas grass removed, and rebuilt it with the same wood from the original building. The building was repaired in 1901. It’s a single structure standing on top of a rock along Namgangcheon, a narrow river in front of Bongjeon Village.

The beautiful natural backdrops of the place, such as the stream flowing down the valley, lush forest, and girder bridge. Visitors often stop by here to reflect on the fact that we’re all part of the nature.

1330 call center