Gwanghalluwon Garden
  • tweeter
  • facebook
  • Address: 1447, Yocheon-ro(Cheongeo-dong), Namwon-si, Jeollabuk-do
  • Tel: +82-63-620-8901
  • Operation Hours: 08:00-20:00
  • Admission Fees: Adult: KRW 2,500 / Student: KRW 1,500 / Child: KRW 1,000
  • left
  • thum_0
  • thum_1
  • thum_2
  • right
  • Introduction
  • User Guide
  • How to get there
Image1 Image2 Image3
Also known as Gwangtongnu, Gwanghalluwon Garden was originally built by Hwanghee Jeongseung in 1419 during the reign of Joseon Dynasty’s King Sejong. Because of its surreal beauty, Governor Jeong In-ji gave the garden the name ‘Gwanghallu’ in 1444, comparing it to a palace on the moon. It is famous as the location where Lee Mong-ryong and Chunhyang (two lovers from a well-known Korean folk story) first met. In the 1920’s Chunhyangsa Temple was established in the neighboring area and a portrait of Chunhyang was hung in a place of honor. On May 5th of every year, the garden is the venue of the Chunhyangjae Festival, celebrating the deep and lasting love of the famous couple.

Namwon City, where the garden is located, contains many historical relics such as the Maninuichong Tomb, Gwanghallu, Ojak Bridge, Gyorongsanseong Fortress, Hwangsan Great Battle Monument Site, and Silsangsa Temple, as well as tourist courses such as the Namwon Tourist Site, Susang Amusement Park, Chunhyang Theme Park, Music Fountain, and Mt. Jirisan National Park.

1330 call center