Daewonsa Valley
  • tweeter
  • facebook
more
  • Address: 2, Yupyeong-ri, Samjang-myeon, Sancheong-gun, Gyeongsangnam-do
  • Tel: +82-55-972-6421
  • Operation Hours:
  • Admission Fees: Free
  • left
  • thum_0
  • thum_1
  • thum_2
  • right
  • Introduction
  • User Guide
  • How to get there
Image1 Image2 Image3
Daewonsa Valley on the east side of Jirisan Mountain is named after Daewonsa Temple. A stream flows in the valley, and it originates from Jogaegol on Jungbong Peak (1,875m) north of the highest peak of Jirisan Mountain called Cheonwangbong. Before reaching the Buddhist temple, the stream joins with other currents water from Simbatgol, Hanpangol, and Wangdeungjae. Including the stream, the whole place is called Daewonsa Valley. But others call it Yupyeong Valley because the stream passes through Yupyeong-ri, Samjang-myeon, Sancheong-gun.

Together with a number of waterfall ponds such as Seonnyeotang and Ongnyeotang and oddly shaped rocks such as Sesindae and Sesimdae, the long valley forms a beautiful scenery. The volume of the clear water is high as well, and it’s one of the reasons why many tourists come to this place in the summer.

The valley was not easily accessible in the past because it’s very deep. But today, there is a paved road all the way up to the upper streams where Saejae Village is located, making it easy for anyone to visit the area. The road to Saejae Village is flanked by thousands of apple trees. The fruits they bear are called Jirisan Yupyeong Apple, or Sancheong Honey Apple, a brand of apple very popular in Korea for their high sugar content.

Daewonsa Temple situated in Daewonsa Valley is a branch temple of Haeinsa, the main temple of the Jogye Order of Korean Buddhism. Originally called Pyeongwonsa, it was founded by a Buddhist monk named Yeongi in 548 (the 9th year of King Jinheung’s reign). It was completely destroyed by fire during the Japanese Invasion of Korea in 1592, and rebuilt and renamed to Daewonam in 1685 by another Buddhist named Ungwon. It was once again destroyed after that, until it was rebuilt, expanded, and renamed to Daewonsa Temple in 1890 (the 27th year of King Gojong’s reign).

1330 call center