Memorial Park for Sancheong-Hamyang Massacre
  • tweeter
  • facebook
more
  • Address: 722, Banggok-ri, Obu-myeon, Sancheong-gun, Gyeongsangnam-do
  • Tel: +82-55-970-6181
  • Operation Hours: -
  • Admission Fees: Free
  • left
  • thum_0
  • thum_1
  • thum_2
  • right
  • Introduction
  • User Guide
  • How to get there
Image1 Image2 Image3
The Sancheong-Hamyang Massacre was carried out by three battalions of the 9th regiment of the 11th army division on February 7th, 1951 with the pretext of subduing red guerrillas operating from Jirisan Mountain. A total of 705 innocent people were killed in the area including people from Geumse-myeon of Sancheong-gun and Hyucheon-myeon and Yurim-myeon of Hamyang-gun. The site of the massacre includes four areas, Gahyeon and Banggok of Geumse-myeon, Jeomchon of Hyucheon-myeon, and Seoju Village of Yurim-myeon, and villages that suffered damage during the incident include Jahye, Jusang, Hwagye, Hwasan, Songok, Jigok, and Hwachon.
Under the same military operation by the same group of soldiers, two days later from February 9th to 11th, 1951, another massacre took place in Sinwon-myeon area where 719 innocent people were killed. This is referred to as the Geochang Massacre and after many twists and turns, the general court-martial of Daegu sentenced the 9th regimental commander O Ik-gyeong to life, the 3rd battalion commander Han Dong-seok to ten years imprisonment, and the deputy chief of staff for civil affairs for martial law enforcement headquarters in Gyeongsangnam-do Kim Jong-won to three years. The ultimate persons responsible for the incident, Sin Seong-mo (Minister of National Defense) or Choe Deok-sin (division commander), were ruled from facing charges in court. Although the two incidents were carried out during the same operation, the Sancheong-Hamyang Massacre was completely concealed from the court and the extent of the Geochang Incident hidden.
Right after the Sancheong-Hamyang Massacre took place, Kim Jong-won stated in an interview that some violence did take place. However, the truth about the massacre was completely concealed before the April Revolution in 1960. After the April Revolution, the recapitulated facts about the incident were revealed to a Congress fact-finding committee during the interim government period, and the media reported the incident in detail to the world. However, unlike the Geochang Incident that had been the subject of various, detailed academic reports elucidating the incident, the Sancheong-Hamyang Massacre was never fully investigated, although anecdotal reports have been collated. Fortunately, poet, scholar of Korean literature, and native of this region, Professor Kang Hui-geun of Gyeongsang National University began the process of gathering and organizing comprehensive information about the massacre.
This memorial park is a mass burial site for those innocent people who lost their lives in Sancheong-Hamyang Massacre. The construction of the site and the memorial tower was overseen by the announcement of special act of government passed on January 5th, 1996, that allowed for the restoration of honor for those killed in the Geochang Incident. The decision to construct the monument was reached by the families of the Honor Restoration Deliberation Committee on February 17th, 1998 and construction of the site began on December 13, 2001 and was completed four years later.
With a total area of 74,890㎡, there are places within the park to pay respects and commemorate the tragedy such as the memorial tower and a statue representing the victims.

1330 call center