Cheoneunsa Temple
  • tweeter
  • facebook
more
  • Address: 70, Bangkwang-ri, Kwangui-myeon, Gurye-gun, Jeollanam-do
  • Tel: +82-61-781-4800
  • Operation Hours: -
  • Admission Fees: Adult: KRW 1,600 / Student: KRW 700 / Child: KRW 400
  • left
  • thum_0
  • thum_1
  • thum_2
  • right
  • Introduction
  • User Guide
  • How to get there
Image1 Image2 Image3
Cheoneunsa Temple is located at the entrance to Jirisan Mountain Circuit Road which starts at Banggwang-ri, Gwangui-myeon, Gurye-gun. It is said that the temple was built by Seuru, a monk from India, and another monk named Deokun in 828 A.D. (the 3rd year of the reign of King Heungdeok during the Silla Dynasty) and was initially named Gamnosa Temple.

It was burned and destroyed during the Japanese invasion of Korea in 1592 and was rebuilt by monk Hyejeong in 1610 (the 2nd year of the reign of King Gwanghaegun during the Joseon Dynasty); however, it was burnt down again in 1676 (the 2nd year of King Sukjong's reign) and rebuilt the following year. Unfortunately, it again suffered damage from fire in 1773 (the 49th year of King Yeongjo's reign) and two years later, it was rebuilt by monk Hyeam, and has stood until today. On the left side of the entrance road, there is a stupa and a memorial stele, which are sometimes obscured by the pine forest.

Currently, there are about twenty buildings. Geungnakbojeon Hall (Jeollanam-do Tangible Cultural Heritage No. 50), which is the Buddhist sanctuary, is an elaborate building decorated with a multi-bracket system and is representative of the late Joseon Dynasty. The Painting of the Holy Peak Assembly in Palsangjeon Hall of Ssanggyesa Temple (Treasure No. 924) is an important reference material for the study of Buddhist art in 18th century Korea.

1330 call center