Geumdaeam Hermitage
  • tweeter
  • facebook
more
  • Address: 17-1, Gaheung-ri, Macheon-myeon, Hamyang-gun, Gyeongsangnam-do
  • Tel: +82-55-962-5500
  • Operation Hours:
  • Admission Fees: Free
  • left
  • thum_0
  • thum_1
  • thum_2
  • right
  • Introduction
  • User Guide
  • How to get there
Image1 Image2 Image3
Geumdaeam is known to be built by a Buddhist monk named Haengho in 656 (the 3rd year of the reign of King Muyeol during the Silla Dynasty). Also known as Geumdaesa, it’s the last one of the 12 temples of the Jogye Order of Korean Buddhism.

Kim Il-son (pen-name: Tagyeong) of the Joseon Dynasty wrote in his travel log (dated April 16, 1489) that he went to the temple with Jeong Yeo-chang, and they saw around 20 monks practicing the teachings of Buddha. A poet named Yu Ho-in also wrote about this temple in one of his poems.

Today, only the Daeungjeon Hall, Nahanjeon Hall, and Lecture Hall still stand. As for historical relics, there are a bronze bell, and a scroll painting in addition to the Three-Story Stone Pagoda designated as the Gyeongsangnam-do Tangible Cultural Heritage No. 34. It is said that the pagoda was built at the same time when the temple was built, but the style of the pagoda hints that it was actually built either at the end of the Goryeo or early Joseon Dynasty. The Bronze Bell of Geumdaeam and the Scroll Painting are listed as the Gyeongsangnam-do Cultural Heritage Material No. 268 and 269 on September 28, 1998.

The bronze bell was made in 1734 (the 10th year of the reign of King Yeongjo during the Joseon Dynasty) by Ssanggyesa Temple. The bell is slightly damaged but the elaborate dragon head sculpture at the top is still in good shape. With a height of 59cm, diameter of 43cm, and circumference of 138cm, it’s a classic example of bronze bells built during the middle of the Joseon Dynasty. The Buddha scroll painting 100cm in width and 105cm in length was made in 1785 (the 9th year of King Jeongjo’s reign). At the entrance of Geumdaeam stand two 40m fir trees. They are estimated to be the oldest fir trees in Korea, planted when Monk Haengho was having this temple expanded. It was designated as the Gyeongsangnam-do Monument No. 212 on November 13, 1998.

Geumdaeam Heritage is also popular for being one of the Eight Scenic Views of Hamyang. The vista is called “Geumdae Jiri” in Korean, meaning a panoramic view of Jirisan seen from the hermitage. The place commands a beautiful view particularly in the winter, and the snow-capped mountains seen from this place is regarded as one of the Ten Scenic Views of Jirisan Mountain.

1330 call center